27
May
08

When I was a child… a reflection on Hope’s passing.

This morning, I heard the news of Hope’s disappearance at home on the radio. I was rushing to get ready for work. Big presentation in front the whole office, big shots and small. I made a mental note to check out the story in the papers when I got the chance, because the radio commentator described her face as angelic.

I wondered to myself how old Hope was… it was really odd that that particular commentator (known for his on-air cynicism and bitterness) would call someone angelic!

I had a really rough day, but in the end, I was happy. My presentation was well received, and I was pumped so high from my presentation’s slam dunk that it took me a few hours to get back down.

I heard the 6 o’clock news in the car on the way home. Her body was found in a field. She was dead.

“Oh dear,” I thought to myself… “that’s really too bad.” I pulled out of the grocery’s car park and made my way home. “I’ll give the story a lookover when I read the papers I just bought…”, I said to myself.

When I turned to page 5 of the Express later in the evening, my heart sank like a stone in the Pitch Lake.

Angel Faced Hope

( http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161328696 )

How could someone snuff the life out of such an innocent?

How could someone even think to do harm to such an angel?

I thought about my own precious nieces… the big one, and the little big one. About the tender and precious moments we shared, watching them asleep in my arms or in their cribs when they were younger.

How?

How?!

When I was a child, I could’ve walked the streets without a care. Adults were watching my everymove, yes… but out of concern for my well-being, and nothing else.

When I was a child, adults assisted me whenever I got lost, or comforted me when I got upset or scared.

All above board… no funny stuff… just out of concern, perhaps thinking and hoping that another adult would do the same for their child if in the same predicament.

When I was a child, innocence meant something, even though I never knew what it was at the time.

I honestly think I peeked at it for the first time in an incubator a few days after my eldest sister brought it into the world.

Hope, I mourn your passing. While I am shocked, outraged and sad, I know that God and your guardian angel were by your side during your last few moments at the hands of those earthly demons.

Lord, I do not understand.

Please… help me understand.

God, help me in my distress.

Be there for her broken-hearted mother, and her shaken siblings.

Help us to do more for our fellow citizens… help us remember what it was to care for the welfare of the innocent, lost and weak.

Lead us out of the darkness and into your loving light, Lord.

May her soul, and the souls of the faithful departed, through the mercy of God, rest in peace.

Amen.

3 Responses to “When I was a child… a reflection on Hope’s passing.”


  1. 1 vanessa
    June 20, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    it’s only goinng to get worse.we are indeed living in the last days.we also need to look out for one another and continue to be our brothers keeper.

  2. June 20, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    Thanks for your comment, Vanessa.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Blog Stats

  • 104,541 hits

Readers Online Now:

The Bobolee Headlines

