01
Sep
08

Isn’t It Ironic?

Its 11:00 am.  I’m sitting at home, relaxing and enjoying the last few hours of my Independence Day holiday.  The TV is on, but I’m barely paying attention to it; CNN’s coverage of Hurricane Gustav has been playing like a stuck record all morning long.  I’m trying my best to do some office work, and failing miserably.

Its a really nice day.  No rain… yet.  Hot & slightly windy, its a “birds chirping happily” kind of day.  I should be outside…

Wait a minute…

The opening night of the RNC convention is being postponed due to the hurricane?

Interesting.  The weather is having an impact on their convention?

Whoa.  This reminds me of something… wait, hold on… let me check my newsreader.

Ahh… here it is.

CNN reported on August 12th

Colorado Springs-based Focus on the Family posted a video on its Web site calling on Christians to “pray for rain” to disrupt Barack Obama’s acceptance speech at the upcoming Democratic convention in nearby Denver.

[James Dobson, Huffington Post]

The video was eventually pulled from YouTube after a deluge of complaints hit the organisation.

I remember my reaction when this story first broke: huh?

Take a look at the video (check here if you can’t see it below):

I found out later that Stuart Shepard, the man behind the video, was only joking.  Even though it was supposedly “tongue in cheek”, I really find it hard to believe that he thinks that most Americans have the ability to recognise tongue in cheek satire when it hits them in the face (see here and here, for example).

Well, we all saw Obama’s acceptance speech…

…the only water I could see was from the abundance of tears streaming down the faces of the attendees.

I don’t speak for God, and I’m even hesitant to even say what I’m about to say next! *sigh*

I think that God has a unique sense of irony… and even possibly, humour.  Instead of sending a storm to Denver, he sent it to Louisiana, causing the Republicans to put a stop to their entire proceedings, not just a speech!

Instead of praying for rain to fall in drought affected areas in the world, they prayed for rain on Obama’s head?  And they call themselves Christian?

When Katrina hit and devastated New Orleans three years ago, almost all of the same Republican backing, right-wing conservative pastors and pundits claimed that God was punishing America for its many sins.

The thing is, to me, the lasting imagery from Katrina isn’t the storm’s destruction, but the destruction of man.  All those people in the Superdome, stranded on their rooftops, those who died, were killed or were left for dead, the abject suffering while the US Gov’t and FEMA twiddled their thumbs and tried to figure out what to do (make sure you watch the video)… what did all that have to do with God?

I don’t recall hearing any outcry against these righteous men of the cloth when they made these damning pronouncements on America…

But… when someone else said similar things, he was condemned?

Hypocrisy, anyone?

Whatever happened to “do not put God to the test?”

*sigh*

I’m getting off my soap box now.  I’ll leave the pontificating and finger wagging for the Republican pundits and right-wingers.

🙂

Peace and Much Love,

jw

5 Responses to “Isn’t It Ironic?”


  1. September 2, 2008 at 12:15 am

    If you got upset when Focus on the Family asked people to pray for rain, now it’s our turn. There’s only three days left to “Pray for Diarrhea!”

    Pray for Diarrhea

    Check it out, it’s a hilarious parody of Focus on the Family’s video! Don’t forget to send it to everyone you know. We only have three days left!

  2. September 2, 2008 at 12:18 am

    Thanks much for this, John! 🙂

    LOL!!!

  3. September 2, 2008 at 3:07 am


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Blog Stats

  • 104,466 hits

Readers Online Now:

The Bobolee Headlines

