13
Sep
08

Nice Folks On The Street

I was just going along the way, minding my own business, when this happened to me…

Scene 1

Location: Multi-Story Car Park in Port of Spain, Trinidad & Tobago.

Time: c. 10.30am

I was driving out of the car park (4th floor).  When I got to the 2nd floor, I had to stop, as there was a car trying to get into a parking spot on my left.  This is a basic layout of the scene:

The Scene

The driver of the vehicle shown in white was attempting to turn her car into the empty parking space.  She seemed to have some difficulty getting the angle right, and had to reverse and drive forward several times.  The other drivers waited patiently for her to align, while I noticed that there were several empty parking spaces on the 3rd floor that she could use instead of trying to get into this one.

After a few more tries, she got frustrated and pulled onto her lane to allow me to pass.  I pulled alongside her.

Me: Excuse me, but there are several empty spaces on the 3rd floor that you can use… there are hardly any cars parked there, so you won’t have to worry about bouncing anything…

She: WHO SAYS THAT I’M GOING TO BOUNCE INTO ANYTHING??? I can DRIVE, MISTER!!! 😡

Me: ??? 😯 (puts car back in ‘D’) I was just… trying to… help you, Miss…

I drive off.  Looking in my side mirror, I can see her gesticulating with her hands as she continued to argue me with me as I drove off.

Then, when I look into my rearview, the woman who was waiting patiently behind Ms White Car pulls into the parking space.

In one smooth move…

Scene 2:

Location: A Long Circular Road taxi on Wrightson Road, heading into downtown Port of Spain, Trinidad.

Time: c. 1.30pm

I had to make run some errands during my lunchbreak.  Not wanting to have to drive, I decided to take public transportation to get things done.  When I was finished, I got a taxi heading back into town on Wrightson Road.

Got into the back, sitting behind the passenger seat, next to a man with a little girl sitting on his lap.  A female passenger sat behind the driver.  The little girl was a real cutie pie, and bade me a cheery “hello” when I got in.  She kept herself busy singing and clapping merrily as we made our way through the traffic.  Then she stopped to ask her father some questions…

Happy go lucky...

Cutie: Daddy, where are we going?  Daddy: We’re going to mummy’s office…

Cutie: I want to go to your office, Daddy!  Daddy: No… we can’t… not today…

Cutie: Daddy, I feel hot.  I want some cold water…

Daddy: Well, baby, I don’t have any now. You’ll have to wait until we get to mommy.  See?  Daddy told you that if you wore your new sweater you’d feel hot! (She had on a really pink sweater, and the taxi driver didn’t have on his AC in the sweltering midday heat)  Do you want to take off the sweater?

Cutie: (thinking for awhile) No Daddy…

Daddy sighs.

The woman sitting behind the driver laughed aloud.  “Look at her, acting just like a big woman – choosing fashion over comfort!”

I grinned but said nothing.

My sisters would be proud.

View from the Promenade

View from the Promenade

[Kahi Ooi’s Photostream]

Scene 3:

Location: a pharmacy on Brian Lara Promenade, Port of Spain, Trinidad

The store is fairly empty and I’m browsing the aisles in the pharmacy.  I overhear hushed, urgent tones from the shelf behind me.  I didn’t intend to eavesdrop, the persons are talking loud enough for me to hear.

Woman: See?  This is how you put on a condom properly.  Look at the picture… the side with the grease goes on the inside…

Man: No!  That’s the wrong way… the side with the grease goes on the outside!

Woman: How many children do you have again?

Man: Five… why?

Woman: (slight pause) Just curious… no reason…

Those peanuts look nice… let me pick up a few packs…

7 Responses to “Nice Folks On The Street”


  1. 1 sayamanda36
    September 14, 2008 at 1:06 am

    Yes, I AM proud of you!

  2. 2 youcouldbelievethis
    September 14, 2008 at 8:24 am

    The little girl’s a cutie.

  3. September 14, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    Yes, she was a real sweetheart.

    Actually, I forgot to put the photo credit on that pic of the child, but I got it online.

    Now I can’t remember where I got it from!

  4. September 16, 2008 at 1:40 am

    I thought that the punchline to “nice folks on the street” was “trying to kill us.” By the way, do you remember that safe driving program on TV from way back, maybe from the days when TTT not only existed but was also the sole channel?

  5. September 16, 2008 at 9:17 am

    Well, that was my thinking too! I borrowed the headline!

    🙂

    In every case, I thought the ppl were either literally trying to kill me (scene 1) or just kill me with laughter (scenes 2-3)!

    I remember that show fondly, and wish they’d update it and bring it back.

  6. September 27, 2008 at 4:09 am

    Brilliant!

  7. September 28, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Blog Stats

  • 104,348 hits

Readers Online Now:

The Bobolee Headlines

