14
Sep
08

Nice Guys Finish Last

I was kinda shy as a teenager.  I guess it was because I’d attended all-male primary and secondary schools.  Even though I had no problem relating to and with the female friends I grew up with, whenever I was around a girl I had a crush on, I’d turn into a complete, bungling mess.

Ahhh… teenage love!

I remember this one time… there was this one girl I really, really liked.  I was… 14, going on 15?  We met at Daniell’s “summer” vacation camp.  She made my heart do all sorts of acrobatics whenever she was around.  And she liked me, too… I could tell!  She’d always make it a point to look me in the eye and smile.  When I’d least expect it, she turn around and smile at me when she caught me staring at her.  I’d feel my face get flushed whenever she and her friends passed me by.  Her friends would always giggle at me, but she never did…

[Creatas]

I’d been in this situation before… I’d have a crush, I could tell that she liked me too… but I just didn’t have… the “skill” …to close the deal.  I’d either bungle it, or simply not do anything about it past the flirting stage.  I’d just watch them from afar, and watch (eventually) as some other dude got the girl.

[GraphicsHunt]

This time was going to be different.  This time, I was determined to overcome this shyness.  So, I sat closer to her in my classes… ate lunch near to her table… I noticed when she came in and went so we’d always happen to ‘bump’ into each other… eventually, we got to talking and laughing, and my confidence grew more and more with each passing day.  Eventually, I really felt myself falling for her, and she for me!  One day, I decided to make a bold move.  With all that was happening between us, the ‘deep feelings’ I felt had to be revealed.

I asked her for a kiss…

Politely.

She… sort of smiled… then said no.

She said I was “nice”, but I was “just a friend”.

😐

A few weeks later, after camp was finished, one of my classmates was telling me about this (different) girl he was seeing for a little while and had just kissed for the first time.

Me: So what did she do when you asked her for a kiss?

He: Ask? I didn’t ask her anything!  I just… held her and kissed her!

Me: (quizzically) …and she kissed you back ?!

He: (laughing) Yeah! 😀

Me: Oh… 😐

What’s my point?  Why am I putting this all out there?  Its simple, really…

When is Barack Obama going to stop playing Mr. Nice Guy ?

If you’re too nice or too polite, you won’t get the girl.

The McCain camp just spun another lie into a disgusting, grotesque campaign ad (video):

If I was the father of two kindergarten-aged girls, what do you think that my reaction would be?

Why is the Obama campaign taking long to respond forcefully to this?

Is he afraid of being labelled an “Angry Black Man”? (video)

Newsflash!  As far as ‘they’ are concerned, you already are!  And they called you “uppity” to boot!  So what are you going to do about it?

The thing is, is America ready for another angry black man?  I think McCain is doing whatever it can to goad him into displaying his (righteous) rage simply because it will play him into their hands.

They will twist it so much that it’ll leave Jeremiah Wright speechless.  They’re doing it already anyway… almost every ad spins the facts, quotes out of context, and makes the truth out to be something stranger than fiction.

I don’t know what McCain’s minions are holding back, but whatever it is, the microsecond Obama takes off his belt to lash the dolts with some sense, they will let the pit bulls go after him and won’t hold them back.

If we’re alarmed at the people who look at him and call him uppity now, we ain’t seen nothing yet.

Who knows?  Maybe America is ready.  There’ve been several portrayals of “Angry Black Men” in popular culture for many years… Sidney Poitier, Denzel Washington, Samuel L. Jackson, and even Will Smith have filmed righteous indignation scenes throughout their careers that resonate with us still.

When Denzel played decent and nice and noble and upstanding characters he got bypassed by the Academy.

Thing is though, he only got his Oscar when he played it crooked in Training Day.

(Trailer)

Even McCain’s own people have called the game out for what it is:

“This election is not about issues. (emphasis mine)

This election is about a composite view of what people take away from these candidates.”

– Rick Davis, John McCain campaign manager

Go suit up.  Its time to show them you know how to play.

Handle your stories, man… *fist bump*

😎

Peace and Rice,

jw

2 Responses to “Nice Guys Finish Last”


  1. 1 youcouldbelievethis
    September 15, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    I hope he listens

  2. September 15, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    I think they’ve started putting plans into action…

    http://outtheotherear.wordpress.com/2008/09/15/ive-got-a-bridge-to-sell-you/


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Blog Stats

  • 104,429 hits

Readers Online Now:

The Bobolee Headlines

