23
Sep
08

Different Strokes

[Pundit Kitchen]

Caption says:

Which is scarier?

That Obama is half cloth/half human

… or that the person that made this sign still gets to vote?

Give that one some serious thought.  Its a lot more complicated than it first appears!

What a difference a simple pen stroke makes!

The power of the pen is not to be taken lightly at all.

*sighs* … if only the world could vote…

www.IfTheWorldCouldVote.com

http://www.IfTheWorldCouldVote.com

[View Current Results Here]

Click here to vote !

For the record, I believe that everyone, regardless of their race, religion, IQ or fabric preference :), should be allowed to vote.

I’m always mindful of the fact that some of my ancestors didn’t have the opportunity to do many of the things I take for granted today… like vote and be allowed to express a difference in opinion!

Peace and Rice,

jw

8 Responses to “Different Strokes”


  1. 1 snackfree
    September 23, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    the silly thing is that there is at least two Muslim (males) serving in the U.S. Congress – Keith Ellison (D-Minn.), and Andre Carson (D-Indiana.).

  2. September 23, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    “Truth is stranger than fiction”

    That’s what came to mind when I read your comment!

    I think the “Truth” should be as big a campaign issue as anything else so far. I’m amused at how reluctant the press/media seems to call a lie for what it is…

  3. 3 trickyguy
    September 23, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    An interesting, although totally academic, exercise. The world’s citizens do not get to vote for elected officials in the US any more than we get to elect their government. They also do not have to reoice about / struggle through / tolerate four or more years living with the decisions made by the eventual winner.

    Again, an interesting exercise. I’d rather hear what they think our new president should do differently than his predecessors.

  4. September 23, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    The world is filled with idiots like the one who made that stupid sign. They vote, preach, teach and live among us. Knowing this make me sad and scared.

    What is happening to the country I love?

  5. September 23, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    trickyguy, I find your response interesting on many levels… and I agree with you somewhat.

    We (in the rest of the world) do have to deal with the results of the US election, whether we like it or not. For example, the US is one of the world’s biggest trading partners and economies, and many nations have their currency pegged to the US dollar. Everyone’s interconnected in a global economy as you can plainly see when you watch international stock exchanges struggle and cope with the turmoil taking place on Wall St and with oil prices. When the US gets cut, sometimes we’re the ones that bleed the most!

    As far as your statement that the US doesn’t try to elect or select the governments of foreign countries… I just have this to say: the Korean war, the Shah of Iran, the Bay of Pigs, the two Gulf Wars, post-Saddam Iraq and post-911 Afghanistan. I could say more, but I think I’ve made my point!

    Voting on a website is “academic”, I’ll give you that. I can’t vote in the US election, but I can certainly reflect upon the issues that are raised and point out the discrepancies to those that can.

    I’m a citizen of the world. When America sneezes, the whole world is liable to catch the cold. The election is just as important to the world as it is to the American John Doe.

    I hope you see that when its time for you to vote in November.

    As much as you might not like to think it, when you vote “locally”, focussing only on things like cosmetics on pork (for instance)… the impact is felt globally.

    Thanks for commenting! Please feel free to respond on my other posts as well…

  6. 6 trickyguy
    September 25, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    Darn good point about Bag of Pigs, Shah of Iran and so on. I should have been much more clear. The PEOPLE of the US don’t get to vote on foreign leaders. Clearly the US government does reserve that right.

    I daresay though, few if any members of the American public would have supported those actions you listed.

    (And Korea, I would remind, was a UN-sponsored action, where the US, along with many, many other nations, was fulfilling its written obligations.

  7. September 25, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    True. America is a sovereign state and I respect that. I don’t think the creators of the polling site actually even want to vote. Its nothing more than a snapshot of people’s feelings about the candidates running for President. I like the idea of the poll, which is why I’m highlighting so much.

    Just to be contentious about your point on the American people šŸ™‚ , I’ll never forget the way the Dixie Chicks were treated by some Americans when they strongly objected to the 2nd Gulf War… I think what they did was really brave and courageous.

    I’m really amazed at the laissez-faire attitude of some ppl though. I really think that this election is (perhaps) one of the most important in the World and perhaps, in history. I think that by bringing my own perspective on the way things roll with the campaigns will help promote some discussion, thought amongst everyone, and hopefully action in the voting booth for those allowed so to do. I’m an outsider looking in, taking notes and thinking ahead about how the decisions made by those “hockey moms” and other decent, hard working Americans will impact me and my life, here, and for the rest of the world.

    Take care, trickyguy. Thanks for stopping by again… do you have a blog of your own?

  8. 8 trickyguy
    September 27, 2008 at 1:59 am

    Here’s the URL for my blog.

    http://trickyguy.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Blog Stats

  • 104,703 hits

Readers Online Now:

The Bobolee Headlines

