26
Sep
08

The Bobolee Gets An Award !!!

I’d been out of the Blogosphere for awhile, taking time out to handle some other stuff in the real world.  Imagine my surprise when I happened upon the fact that my blog won a “Brillante Weblog Premio” award!

I found out when I was browsing The Bandwagonist. Thanks for the nod!!!

So, being curious, I decided to do some digging into what this award was all about… who’s behind it, and what does it all mean?

My search led me to this; at the Museum of Hoaxes:

Surf around the web enough and you’ll notice a lot of sites that have announced they’re the recipients of a “Brillante Weblog Premio” award. (Google “Brillante Weblog” and you’ll see what I mean.)
Just to clue in anyone who might be confused — this is not a real award. It’s a viral nuisance. The gimmick is that you receive this award from a friend. Accompanying the award are these rules:
In this way, the award keeps circulating endlessly.
There are real “Brillante Awards for Excellence” awarded by the National Society of Hispanic MBAs, but they’re not related in any way to the “Brillante Weblog Premio” award. (via Heart and Hands)

This information gave me pause, but then I thought about it some more:

  1. The “award” logo is virus free. You can’t get a virus from an image, as far as I can tell.  The image isn’t “hot linked” to any malicious sites, as far as I can tell.
  2. I was granted the “award” by someone who’d read my blog and liked what they’d read.
  3. My nominator “won the award”, too. In a sense, my blog was “vetted” by a winner, who (in turn) was vetted by a winner…
  4. At its best, its just an opportunity for people to get familiar with other good blogs that they’ve never read before.
  5. At its worst, I get an opportunity to share some of my favourite blogs with some of my readers, all the while saluting the authors for their efforts.

Hmmm… I see only “wins” here!  So, without further ado, here are my Brillante winners (in no particular order):

  1. Trini Carnival Diary. Find out all about Carnival in Trinidad & Tobago through the eyes of a seasoned masquerader.
  2. Pundit Kitchen. Political LOLcats… without the cats!  If you know me, you know I like nothing more than a good laugh.  Ever since this site launched a few months ago, they’ve been responsible for putting a wide grin on my face before I start my day!
  3. Trini Gourmet.  Sweet Trinbago Cuisine!  Sweet han’ fuh so!  And I can vouch for it!
  4. Stuff White People Do. At first I thought this was a simple knockoff of the popular “Stuff White People Like” blog.  Now I realise that its a whole lot more.  Like the author of “SWPL”, the author of “SWPD” is also “white”.
  5. SHIMWORLD.  Photoblog of Jan Shim, citizen of Brunei and of the world.  He takes excellent wildlife shots, and his blog’s a portal to the Far East for me.
  6. One Day for the Watchman (1D4TW): Max of Open Anthology does it pop-culturally.  And he saw that it was good.  And I agree!
  7. Choonkooloonks.  Karen Walrond’s put together an impressive photojournal and blog.  When my own photoblog (insert shameless site promo here) grows up, I can only dream that it’ll look half as good as hers.

I tried to pick blogs that hadn’t been “awarded” anything before (AFAIK).  Hard stuff.  I like so many great blogs!

Honourable mentions:

  • Emily Postal. I like her quirkyness and her writing style.
  • Creative Commess. A Trini lady ramblin about random stuff on a “vaps”.
  • Airy Nothings… stumbled across her site whilst looking for Obama material.  Just nice quips and comments about life and living in general.
  • My World. Another Trini lady.  She writes about very varied and interesting stuff, and I think her blog is fairly new too.
  • ShiZZles! Done by some talented Trinidadian graphic artists (and musicians?).  Very crafty short stories and even a webcomic!!!

So, there.  I’ve taken something bad and turned it into something good.  Congratulations to all the “winners”!

😆

Please pass along to all your other friends, and nominate some of your blogs too.

Leave me some of your other favourite blogs in the comments for this post!

I want to thank everyone who’s read & visited my blog.  It’s only  a little over 4 months old, and I’ve averaged 1000 hits/month thus far.  This month (September) was the first month that I’ve actually gotten 1000 hits before the month was up!  That says something… and I want to thank you for all the constructive criticism, suggestions and dialogue.

Peace and Rice,

jw

(ps: Please make sure you also check out my blogroll!!!)

19 Responses to “The Bobolee Gets An Award !!!”


  1. September 26, 2008 at 7:36 am

    Wow, thanks so much for the honours!

    K.

  2. September 26, 2008 at 10:26 am

    De nada!

  3. September 26, 2008 at 11:25 am

    Thanks very much JW!

    Here are some of my favourite blogs by Trinidadians:

    Guanaguanare: The Laughing Gull

    Guacara Dreamtime

    Blackgirl on Mars

    These have been some real sources of inspiration over the past few years, I am really enchanted with the intellectual and critical depth of those sites, and I think their value is not well appreciated or recognized even by other Trinidadian bloggers.

    Again. thanks very much, and I very much liked how you went behind the surface of the arbitrariness of the award and realized how it is made legitimate by its users, seemingly viral but not without meaning and judgment. If we looked more closely at “established” awards, we wouldn’t find much difference. This award may be frowned upon precisely because there is no elite in charge of it, which in my mind says something very good about this award.

  4. September 26, 2008 at 11:38 am

    Yes!!!

    I like Guanaguanare’s blogs too! I hope my omission doesn’t put me in the seagull’s bad books! 😕

    I just took a look at my Google reader feeds and selected blogs that I liked a lot and wanted to highlight for being a bit off the beaten track. I hate having to select at times, because, like David Rudder sang in “Dedication”, “to name a few will make the others feel small”.

    “Blackgirl on Mars” is definitely a good and insightful read and I’ve only just read the posts on her front page… thanks for taking the time to add your favs!

    I have a lot to learn about blogging, and I learn by taking a look at other blogs. I think ppl who take the time out to post work of substance deserve to be recognised somehow, and this “award” is a good way to start.

    I will do this again, though… 😎

  5. September 26, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    …oh, and I agree with your point about the validity and legitimacy of the “award”

    Vox populi… ?

  6. 6 soyluv
    September 26, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    oh wow. thank-you. “first of all, i’d like to thank the most high–without HER none of this would be possible….i’d like to thank my manager, my record label for believing in me when no one else did…most of all, i’d like to thank you–the fans.”

    *chuckle*

    seriously though, thanks.

  7. September 26, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    *chuckles back*

  8. 8 youcouldbelievethis
    September 26, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    OMG on honerable mention. Thanks much, you’ve made my day! 🙂

  9. September 27, 2008 at 9:30 am

    Photoblog of Jan Shim, citizen of Brunei and of the world. He takes excellent wildlife shots, and his blog’s a portal to the Far East for me.

    JW,

    I don’t know what to say that hasn’t already been said other than a big THANK YOU! Just as others have remarked, you’ve turned a bogus award into something significant and personal and I appreciate the gesture.

    I am really not a wildlife photographer but rather a creative events photog such as the recent Asia Pacific Entrepreneurship Awards 2008 held in Brunei Darussalam. They’re hosting one in Hangzhou, China next year and I hope to be able to get some work there.

    http://shimworld.wordpress.com/2008/09/01/asia-pacific-entrepreneurship-awards-2008/

    You’ve done well with this blog and I’m impressed how well you get the black theme with your content. And, thanks for being a regular visitor on SHIMWORLD.com

  10. September 27, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    @ Jan, thanks for the comments and the compliments! I did my best trying to find what would work well, and I think I have it under control now. Keep up the good work, and good luck with your efforts in China!

    Keep up the great work, everyone… and don’t forget to pass it on!

  11. September 28, 2008 at 7:17 am

    hahah that’s fun!

  12. September 29, 2008 at 9:32 am

    Thanks for the mention! So nice!!!

    I wanted to let you know that I love Chookooloonks, too! As a matter of fact, I was thinking of telling you about it, only now, I see you already discovered it.

    Have a joyful day!

  13. September 29, 2008 at 11:30 am

    You’re welcome, Glad!

    I actually owe you a “hat tip”. When I first started blogging and posting my pix online at BoboleePix, Choonkooloonks was one of the sites that I’d visited for ideas on what a “photo blog” could/should look like. (Shimworld was another) Because of life and the time I spend here on TBC, my photoblog doesn’t get as updated as it could be!

    😕 🙂

    So when I started reading your blog, and I saw that you had Choonkooloonks listed, it got me reacquainted with the site all over again!

    Thanks for the blessings. Here’s hoping that they’re returned 100 fold!

  14. 14 emilypostal
    September 29, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    Wow! Thanks for the honorable mention. I’m, well… honored!

  15. September 30, 2008 at 7:51 am

    You’re welcome… 😎

  16. October 13, 2008 at 11:47 am

    Thanks to both you and Max for mentioning my blog!
    the lab

  17. October 13, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    Not a problem… take care.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Blog Stats

  • 104,541 hits

Readers Online Now:

The Bobolee Headlines

