29
Oct
08

Divali 2008 Gallery

Here are some of the pix I took during Divali festivities yesterday.  I took over 100 pix, but these are some of the best.  I didn’t use flash at all (except for a few pics), and relied on the lighting from the deyas (small oil lamps) and the overhead street lamps.

I first went to Ethel Street in St James, and had to walk from 3 streets away because I couldn’t get a closer parking spot.  There were a lot of people there, from all walks of Trinidadian life, who came to enjoy the sights and sounds of the celebrations.

Then I went to Adam Smith Square in Woodbrook, where the celebrations were a bit muted, and not as intricate.  After walking around for about 5 minutes, I opted to leave.

It was magical.  Enjoy the pictures.

Peace and Rice,

jw

6 Responses to “Divali 2008 Gallery”


  1. October 29, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    Not using flash gave the pix that “Sepia” look that you see.

    In fact, when I set the camera to capture in Sepia colour mode, they looked black & white!

    With cameras getting cheaper and more hi-res, I think I’m in need of a new pea shooter. I really think these pics are a bit too grainy.

  2. October 29, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    nice pix 🙂 will link to em in my next Divali food post 😀 Didn’t mind the quiet vibe at Adam Smith, was looking for something mellow and romantic 😉 May check out Ethel ST next year as well tho … but i like the mellow scene and watching the kidz 😀

  3. October 29, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    *snores*

    “Ummm? Wha’… what?” *wipes dribble off chin*

    “You were saying something about Adam Smith Squ…”

    Zzzzzzzzzzz …

    😆


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Blog Stats

  • 104,703 hits

Readers Online Now:

The Bobolee Headlines

