21
Apr
09

This Bobolee Is Getting A Serious Beating, Boy!

Yesterday morning, the hit counter on my blog stood at 25,000 hits.  I was pleasantly surprised, to say the least!  At this sentence, the count stands at 25,106 unique hits.

boboleepicture

A Good Friday Bobolee in Trinidad.

[Guanaguanare: The Laughing Gull]

This is a major milestone for me, and for my blog.  Actually, this is my 2nd attempt at blogging.  I used to have a MSN Spaces page at one point in time (http://spaces.msn.com/bluesoapbox was the URL) which I discontinued as I didn’t feel too comfortable sharing my inner thoughts and feelings with the whole wide world at the time.  What got me started again was the 2008 US Election campaign.  I was really appalled some of the things that were being said (and done) during the campaign, and at the same time, I was really captivated by Barack Obama.

A few friends and I were discussing the campaign issues online and one posted a Slate picture slideshow entitled “The Soiling of Old Glory”.   Those pictures invoked memories of a trip I’d made to a Southern US state in the 1990’s.  Those memories helped me write “The Day I Met Jim Crow”, a recollection of the day I met Jim Crow for the first time.  That’s the most widely read and referenced post on this blog to date, with close to 1300 views to date.

I’m really fortunate to have made a few acquaintances thru this second blogging stint; acquaintances I hope turn into friendships as time goes by.  My blog stats tell me that my blog posts have been read from as far west as Alaska to as far east as China.  That really… I don’t know… has me in awe?  I really don’t know how else to describe it… how that makes me feel.

My blog will be a year old on May 24th.  With any luck (and time) I’ll share some more facts and figures then.  In these eleven months (approx), I also started Bobolee Pix, a space for me to share a few of my pictures.  I’ve been stymied with my photography efforts though: someone sniped my camera last month and I haven’t gotten myself a replacement as yet! 😕  Really a shame… I loved taking photos, and my camera and I had just gotten used to each other’s quirks.  I hope the new owner likes it as much as I did! 😕

I’m not a learned scholar, an author, a writer, or a journalist.  Just a simple dude with an opinion (and a way with words, apparently).  I have to warn you, I’m not always able to post as I like due to my real-world commitments!  I wish I could do nothing else but share my thoughts and observations with you each and everyday… and I probably could, but I’ll have to leave my currently well-paying 9-5!  At least, now with my Twitter feed,  we can still share and communicate thoughts on a more impromptu and frequent basis.

Thanks a lot for visiting, thanks a lot for linking, thanks a lot for critiquing, and thanks a lot for sharing!

thank-you

Peace and Rice,

jw

3 Responses to “This Bobolee Is Getting A Serious Beating, Boy!”


  1. May 14, 2009 at 7:42 am

    Good going and congratulations. I am a regular and unique visitor but a poor commenter. I must change that.

    • May 14, 2009 at 9:04 am

      Just testing this comment reply via email thingy… Please ignore this Test
      Comment!

      jw

      “Never let your sense of morals get in the way of doing what’s right.” Isaac
      Asimov

      my blogs:
      boboleechronicles.wordpress.com
      boboleepix.wordpress.com
      follow me!: twitter.com/boboleechron

  2. May 14, 2009 at 8:48 am

    Thanks a lot, aka_lol. I read your blog via your RSS feeds, and I enjoy your posts. You crack me up, man!

    I’m not always able to post as often as I’d like, but I’ve gotten bitten by the bug and have to do something about it. Managing my time to be able to enjoy the outlet a good dose of writing provides needs to become a high priority…STAT!

    Take care, man… and thanks again.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Blog Stats

  • 104,429 hits

Readers Online Now:

The Bobolee Headlines

