11
Oct
09

Vendor Rivalry

"A casual encounter soon escalates into a battle royale, as two local vendors get pushed over the edge.

An animated take on a day in the life of two Trinidadian, Caribbean vendors, as an initial battle of words is transformed into a kung fu showdown in the busy streets of Trinidad."

Winner of Animae Caribe's "Best Caribbean Animation" prize for 2009, this video was produced by Ansar Sattar of Trinidad and Tobago.

I'd be more than happy to provide a translation if anyone finds it difficult to understand what the characters are saying!

Bobolee Chron

Posted via email from boboleechron

7 Responses to “Vendor Rivalry”


  1. October 13, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    Hi peoples,

    This is Ansar Sattar, the creator of Vendor Rivalry. I really hope that you’ve enjoyed my cartoon. I spent a great deal of time on the script, voices, character design, fight choreography and animation, and I must say that I am overwhelmed at the response! Big ups to “The Bobolee Chronicles” for hosting this animation! I knew that I’d lose my international audience with the Trini lingo at the beginning, but I’d hoped to win them back with the Bruce Lee parody, and body gesture performance animation. Please spread the link: let the world feel this positive island culture!~ Enjoy!

    • October 13, 2009 at 5:20 pm

      Ansar,

      You’re most welcome, and thank you for taking the time out to stop by and comment!

      I saw your vid on Facebook and was really impressed with the quality of the work you put in. When I saw in the credits that you did *all* of the work yourself, I was really impressed!

      Keep up the great work! Don’t rest on your laurels for too long… keep bringing out those funny and thoughtful animations!

  2. 3 colin gill
    October 19, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    This is really good work and funny as hell.

    Do a series for TnT nuh? There is so much we want(need) to know about ourselves via the lighter side.

    • October 21, 2009 at 9:19 am

      Let’s hope Ansar does more stuff, and not just for Anime Caribae!

  3. 5 trinitoons
    November 16, 2009 at 12:28 am

    Fuh sure! Anime Caribe presented a great forum for me to showcase my talent. And you are right…I can’t lapse now, so I’m keeping busy with other productions. More toons are in the works now for TnT. For more of my animation work, please have a look at my website: Electric Juvenile Productions: http://www.ejproductions.net . I’ll keep you posted. Thanks again. ~ Ansar Sattar

  4. 6 Rudi
    February 22, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    THank you for an excellent video, I would like to feature more like that.

  5. May 9, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    Ansar Sattar
    please contact me either via email or 3551032/7311381


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Blog Stats

  • 104,703 hits

Readers Online Now:

The Bobolee Headlines

