27
Nov
09

Shut Yuh Mout’, Go Away…

…”Mama, look ah boo boo dey.”

Harry Belafonte and Nat King Cole perform  a classic calypso “Mama Look A Boo Boo”, which was written in 1956 by Lord Melody (Fitzroy Alexander).

Thanks to the wonders of the Internet, I was also able to find the same song done on the steelpan… It was performed by a University student from California named Ziba Zehdar, as part of her university coursework or something.

Ziba Zehdar

Taken from Ziba's Vimeo profile...

What made me smile was that she’s so good, that the MC introducing her actually has to announce to the audience that – contrary to the thoughts and questions of many – that  he “didn’t hire her to play the steelpan”, and that she was a matriculated student at the school!

I was just in the mood for some old school kaiso.  I hope you do enjoy!  It always makes me happy and proud to see a facet of my culture being appreciated by other inhabitants of the big blue marble! 😀

Peace and Rice,

Boboleechron

7 Responses to “Shut Yuh Mout’, Go Away…”


  1. 1 Chica
    November 28, 2009 at 6:48 am

    Sounds nice, thank’s for sharing:-)

    • November 28, 2009 at 9:47 am

      You’re very welcome. Thanks for visiting!

  2. November 30, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    hey that’s me up there on vimeo! thanks for the re-post I appreciate it! hee hee!

    • November 30, 2009 at 10:28 pm

      You’re welcome Ziba! Great vid… I hope you still play…

      • December 10, 2009 at 10:06 pm

        oh yeah not as much as i should… i want to start up again more though! I should just take it to the streets and spread the musical cheer!

  3. 6 Sara Kripke
    September 14, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    It was extremely interesting for me to read this article. Thanx for it. I like such topics and everything connected to them. I definitely want to read more soon. By the way, pretty good design your site has, but how about changing it every few months?

    Sara Kripke


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Blog Stats

  • 104,429 hits

Readers Online Now:

The Bobolee Headlines

